США вводят визовые санкции против стран, затягивающих эвакуацию своих граждан
. © 

The United States introduces visa sanctions against countries delaying the evacuation of its citizens.

US President Donald Trump signed a decree on visa sanctions for countries that refuse to take their citizens from the United States to their homeland in the wake of the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

“Countries that refuse or unreasonably delay the return of their citizens, subjects or residents from the United States during the ongoing pandemic caused by SARS-CoV-2 pose unacceptable risks to the health of Americans,” the decree says.

The Secretary of Homeland Security is authorized to notify the US Secretary of State of such violations.

“The Secretary of State should, as soon as possible, but no later than seven days after receiving the notification, adopt a plan for the introduction of visa sanctions and proceed with its implementation,” the document emphasizes.

The decree will expire on December 31, 2020. Washington reserved the right to renew.